Thursday, March 17, 2016

Walling v. Przybylo case brief - New York Adverse Possession

Kelly v. Gwinnell case brief 

Facts: Gwinnell drove Zak home and stayed at his home for two hours drinking two or three drinks of scotch on the rocks. Later, Zak accompanied Gwinnell to his car and chatted with him and watched him drive off. On the way home, Gwinnell was involved in a head-on collision that resulted in injuries to Kelly. Kelly brought Zaks in as a social host that should be liable for Gwinnell’s drinking. The issue of whether a duty should be imposed on social hosts 
Decision: Plaintiff wins, the duty imposed over social hosts 
Reasoning: “A tortfeasor is generally held answerable for the injuries which result in the ordinary course of events from his negligence and it is generally sufficient if his negligent conduct was a substantial factor in bringing about the injuries” Reasonable person in Zak’s shoes would foresee that Gwinnell could not operate his car carefully. Zak could foresee unless he stopped giving drinks, Gwinnell was likely to injure someone. It was mostly focused on the foreseeability of Zak’s actions. Decided that because it is such a huge issue, duty should be expanded to cover this situation. 
Dissent: Legislature in best shoes to impose the duty on social hosts because they can be most likely to affect the best chance to serve societies needs. Thinks court did not consider social implications of its decision and that is a huge issue; the court should have done research on that to figure out if it actually will turn out to be a huge issue. Not clear how far the duty extends which is a problem. 


Holding: A defendant is liable for the injuries sustained by a 3rd party when that 3rd party was under defendants control and defendant could have stopped the injury from occurring. 

Support us by: 

Checking out our amazing store on Etsy: http://www.bohobuttons.com

While in law school I traveled the world.  Puerto Rico.  Egypt.  Israel.  The Netherlands.  All over the United States.  Costa Rica.  Panama... How, you ask?  I found ways to make money on the side.  One of those ways was hosting my apartment on AirBnB.  If you have an extra room, this is a perfect way to make some extra cash.

Since law school, I have traveled to dozens of countries for pleasure with my family.  It's not rocket science.  You just need to know how to start some side hustles.  Another one of my favorite ways to make money is buying and selling stocks and cryptocurrency on Robinhood.  Join now and get a free stock through this link:  Join Robinhood and Get a Free Stock!

1 comment:

  1. Life is Better With a Cat Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/467554499/life-is-better-with-a-cat-pinback-button

    Actions Speak Louder Than Words Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/469428047/actions-speak-louder-than-words-pinbac

    Step Inside the Nature Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/454070960/step-inside-nature-pinback-button

    Not all Who Wander are Lost J.R.R. Tolkien Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/453998334/not-all-who-wander-are-lost-pinback

    Life is an Adventure Pinback Button / Magnet / Keychain - https://www.etsy.com/listing/454031790/adventure-pinback-button-nature-pins

    We'll Always Have Paris Pinback Button / Magnet / Keychain - https://www.etsy.com/listing/453999190/well-always-have-paris-pinback-button

    Explore Nature Mountains Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/449299794/explore-pinback-button-travel-magnet

    Never Stop Exploring Nature Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/462778517/never-stop-exploring-pinback-button

    Vagabond Travel Wanderer Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/462775179/vagabond-pinback-button-travel-pin

    Radiate Positive Vibes Boho Hippie Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/455965420/radiate-positive-vibes-pinback-button

    Grow Where You Are Planted Tree Vinyl Sticker Car Decal - https://www.etsy.com/listing/467521343/grow-where-you-are-planted-vinyl-sticker

    Pay Bills and Die Vinyl Sticker Decal - https://www.etsy.com/listing/467522233/pay-bills-and-die-sticker-travel-decal

    India Tree Of Life Pinback Button Magnet Keychain - https://www.etsy.com/listing/280205468/unique-india-tree-of-life-pinback-button

    Adventure Begins Writer Book Pinback Button Magnet - https://www.etsy.com/listing/400810623/adventure-begins-book-pinback-button

    Lions Don't Lose Sleep Over the Opinions of Sheep Pinback Button - https://www.etsy.com/listing/280370228/lions-dont-lose-sleep-quote-pinback

    Compass Pinback Button Magnet Keychain Travel World Traveler - https://www.etsy.com/listing/270627525/compass-pinback-button-compass-badge-pin

    If Travel Was Free You'd Never See Me Again Pinback Button Travel Quote - https://www.etsy.com/listing/269663295/if-travel-was-free-pinback-button-travel

    ReplyDelete

Search Thousands of Case Briefs and Articles.